Blizzcon or Bust! Probably Bust….

14 Oct

As I sit here and write this (probably shouldn’t be doing it on work time, though), I’m madly trying to organize my thoughts and lists for what I need to accomplish before Blizzcon next week. My eighth wedding anniversary was yesterday and my wife is suffering from a herniated disc, so I’ve really been picking up the slack regarding the family duties. Actually, I’m pretty much doing everything from dropping off the kids (at two different schools, 20 miles apart, no less), working all day, cooking dinner, cleaning the house, getting my wife’s food and meds and pretty much collapsing by the end of the night after putting the kids to sleep.

Nevertheless I trudge along, blindly ignoring the fact that I still don’t have someone secured to help with my wife next week. She’s not bed-ridden, but lifting anything more than a phone has been outlawed by her neurosurgeon. And since things always come in bunches, of course I have a three day research diving (SCUBA) expedition Monday through Wednesday, spending each night on our anchored research vessel. I’ll be home for one short evening before loading my car and heading down I-5 to the land of great traffic.

So, I’ve been reading many blog articles about Blizzcon. Apparently they are full of nerds who stink, is that right? I admit, this will be a bit strange going solo down there, and I wonder if I’ll stick out like a sore gaming thumb if I actually bathe (which of course I do twice a day…not quite Orel Hershiser-like). I have my comfy sneakers, water bottle, podcasting equipment, clothing, backpack, jackets, camera, and my handy Blizzcon iPhone app to keep me focused on what panels I will attend or drop at the last second.

Now, I’m a very social guy, but I detest crowds and lines. Unfortunately, I’ll have to get over it because clearly most of Blizzcon is actually “Linecon.” Suppose I should remember those earbuds as well….brb.

Speaking of earbuds, I’ll be running around trying to grab interviews from various Blizzard employees, players, guildies, even homeless people on the street. Hey, that’s all I may get. Look for small segments and recaps of the convention’s festivities next Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

I am looking very much forward to this. No kids, just geeks and people I’ve only met over the internet or in the virtual world.

I can’t wait!

Sihx

Leave a Reply

