Now entering heroics…..there’s an app for that…

20 Dec

Are you there yet?

Despite the farming for elementium ore, I can be a little ADD, especially when I thought the prices had bottomed out. I wanted to explore the new content, despite the fact that I would be cutting into my profits. Alas, I leveled my DK main to 85 and promptly purchased the ilevel 346 shoulders and legs with my 4,000 justice points I had banked before the expansion hit. That, along with several reputation items from Hyjal and Therazane, my ilevel sat at the precipice of heroic dungeoneering at an enticing, yet frustrating ilevel average of 328 (329 is required). Frustrated at the concept of being one point short, I realized that one of my dps rings was level 318, highest for that slot. Well, what if I purchased the level 333 tanking ring from Therazane….would that up my average? So, I purchased it and magically, I witnessed that average level bump up to 329!

So, here’s a tip: if you’re still short of the 329 average item level, just purchase any reputation rewards for slots with low item levels, even if it’s not for your spec! It worked for me!

Afterwards, I visitied all of the dungeon entrances I had yet to discover, and promptly entered the queue to face 45 minute waiting times.

The problem with being a father of a 5 year old and especially an infant, I rarely, if ever, have long periods of uninterrupted time to play this game. That’s okay when I’m questing or farming; I can just hop on my flying mount and hover safely for 15 minutes while I attend to pressing family matters at 1am (mainly a crying infant). However, with these new heroics taking some time to complete, I cannot just walk away. I have tried 3 heroics thus far and have yet to complete one, as something always hits the fan after entering the queue. It’s frustrating, but to be expected. This is also the reason why I can’t tank heroics. Although it would be faster to farm rep and rewards this way, it’s unfair to the others in the dungeon. So, it will take some time to get those valor points and reputations raised with this process. That’s okay, I still need to quest out Twilight Highlands, Uldum, and Vash’jir anyway….then there’s my alts to level too!

Leave a Reply

